God's love

Yearning for God

My soul yearns for God and seek Him with tears. You first found me and gave me the delight of the Holy Spirit, and my soul loved You.

You see, Lord, my sorrow and tears … If you had not caught me by Your love, I would not seek You as I’m looking for You now. But your Spirit gave me to know You and my heart rejoices that you are God and my Lord and I yearn for You to tears.

My soul yearns for God and seek him with tears.

Merciful God, You see my loss and grief, but humbly I ask for your mercy: overflow upon me, the sinner, the grace of thy Holy Spirit. His memory draws the mind to find Your mercy again.

Lord, give me thy spirit of Your humility, not to lose Your grace again and not cry out loud for him, as Adam wept for Heaven and for God.

In the first year of my life in monastery my soul knew the Lord by the Holy Spirit. Lord loves us much, I know this from the Holy Spirit that Lord gave me by of His only mercy

I am an old man and I am preparing myself for death, and I write the truth for the sake of the people. Spirit of Christ, that Lord gave me, wants the salvation of all, that all may know God. The Lord gave Paradise to the thief and so will do with any sinner. For my sins are worse than an itchy dog, but I asked God to forgive me and give me not only forgiveness, but His Spirit, and in Holy Spirit I knew God.

Do you see God’s love for us? And who could describe His mercy?

O, my brothers, I fell on my knees and ask you: believe in God, believe that the Holy Spirit who bears witness to Him in all churches and in my soul.

Holy Spirit is love, and this love overflows to all holy souls who are from God, and the same Holy Spirit is on Earth in the souls of those who love God. In Holy Spirit, the entire Heaven see Earth and hear our prayers and lead them to God.

God is merciful, my soul knows it, but can not describe. He is very gentle and humble, and then the soul sees, turns all into the love of God and neighbor and is himself gentle and humble. But if man loses grace, then you complain as Adam at expulsion from Paradise. He laughs and his sigh was heard across the desert, were bitter tears of sorrow and he has spilled many years. So also the soul which has seen the grace of God, when he lose it, longs for God and says: “My soul yearns for God and seek him with tears.”

  (St. Silouan Athonite)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

