Christmas - Christ birth

How much do we share with Christ of what we buy for Christmas

This end of the week, will probably be very busy, because many of us will go to buy something for Christmas. Some buy more, others buy less, some buy food, others gifts … everyone according to his will.

Sometimes I’m thinking how the poor people in the streets celebrate Christmas? What joy do they have? How does the children in orphanages or elderly in the nursing homes celebrate Christmas? How about the prison inmates or hospital patients?

I know! We prefer not to think about this right now, it’ll saddens us. But even if we think of it or not, they are still there in their suffering. When i think of them I am starting to have qualms of conscience. In the morning, after I leave the night shift at work, from the heat inside, in the cold outside, I’m starting to shiver within seconds and imediately I remember the people standing in the street. Feeling cold pain in me makes me more sensitive to their suffering and I begin to pray for them, for God to help them, to have something to eat, a place where to live, not to feel cold… But is it enough? Is my prayer enough?

And I reply to that myself: It’s not enough! I must do something, I must help them in some way. I must give them some food, a blanket, a jacket, some socks, gloves or something to cover their head with. And now when Christmas is coming, now is the moment when we should share and help others, the way God has given us many gifts.

We’ll also go and buy something, and we’ll make time to do some small baskets with sweets for those in the street, because they always enjoy when they receive something.

Should we be the only ones feeling the joy of God’s birth, or should the poor and afflicted ones from the margins of society feel it too? If God gave me everything I want, having it all, wouldn’t be nice to give something to others, making other children smile and enjoy?

When I was a student and a member of the Christian Orthodox Students in Asociation in Romania I went to carol children in orphanages and the elderly in asylums. I don’t know if you believe me or not, but those moments were the most beautiful in my life, I felt such joy and peace, I saw the children and the elderly enjoying and how their face brightens up, when they heard us singing and when we gave them sweets.

It is not difficult to give! Today when we are invited to eat and buy to be happy, to accumulate as much as we can, God tells us the opposite, is more blessed to give than to receive!

If we ever forget who or when we give something, God reminds us, telling how the final court will be:

“Then the King will say to those on His right: Come, blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave Me to eat; I was thirsty and you gave Me to drink; I was a stranger and you received Me; I was naked and you clothed Me, I was sick and you searched Me; I was prisoned and you came to Me. Then the righteous will answer Him, saying: Lord, when I saw hungry and I fed You? Or thirsty and I gave You drink? Or when I saw you a stranger and took Thee in or naked and clothed You? Or when I saw You sick, or in prison and came to You? And the King, answered, shall say unto them: Verily I say unto you, because you did this to one of these brothers of Mine, smaller, you did unto Me. ”

(Claudiu)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

