Confession

How to confess?

36747The Greek word for confession, exomologesis, means ‘saying out in words ‘. It can mean praise and thanksgiving to God or confession of our sins; in each case it means acknowledgement of truth.

A priest said that he would prefer a shy and confused mumbling than a fluent reading from a printed list of sins. Lists can help, but rather as a guide to self-examination. In other words, sincerity is what counts. This is not meant legalistically : ” if you are sincere then God will forgive you”. It is rather that the more sincere and deep my repentance, the deeper the healing grace of Christ can reach me. Christ said that He came precisely for the sick, and not for the righteous.

We cannot tell anyone else what to say , we can only suggest, ” tell everything you are ashamed of “, ” listen to your conscience”. Your understanding of sin and sensitivity to it will grow. Before confession we have to pray to see our sins. , to judge ourselves rather than others. And then we go and very simply say, ” I have done/said/thought…..”, taking responsibility for it. Sometimes we only manage to confess in vague terms about our general state; this acknowlegdement of our condition , our lack of love for God and other people , is useful even if we are not attentive or discerning enough to be specific about our passions.

We don’t have to blame others when we confess. We mention someone else only when that is necessary so as to explain our own sin or ask advice. There is an account of a holy Russian Staretz to whom a lady ( called , say, Maria )came for confession. She complained about her husband-lets call him Peter: ” I get impatient, after all, who wouldn’t? Peter does this, and that , and the other….”. When the time came for absolution the Staretz was reading the prayer and said, ” May God forgive His servant Peter”. The woman interrupted, reminding the priest that her name was Maria. The Staretz said , ” But it is Peter’s sins I heard confessed”.

Nothing anyone can say will shock the spiritual father and that everything you will say , or even the fact that you came, is a secret between you and him and God. You should keep secret his advice, or any penance he may impose ( such as a certain delay before a blessing to take Communion, or a rule of prayer or fasting) . Those things are utterly personal and temptations arise when people start comparing what spiritual fathers say or do.

Fr. Alexander Elchaninov wrote: ” Confession is not just a talk about your faults and doubts, it is not a way of telling  your spiritual father all about yourself, and least of all is  it a ‘pious practice’. Confession is an act of fervent, heartfelt repentance, a thirst for purification. It springs from an awareness of what is holy; it means dying to sin and coming alive again to sanctity. Christ commanded us to forgive, however many times we are sinned against; He therefore also forgives like that. It is for us , as often as we may fall, not to remain down, but to arise ” as Anthony M. Coniaris said in his book A Way of Life ” A Christian is not one who does not fall, he is one who rises after each fall” and go to our “father” and say ” Father I have sinned against heaven and before Thee” .

Discussion

7 thoughts on “How to confess?

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. All the best

    Posted by Venetta | May 3, 2013, 8:57 am
  2. Asking questions are really pleasant thing if you are not understanding anything entirely, except this piece of writing offers
    pleasant understanding yet.

    Posted by cream metal bed frame | May 6, 2013, 1:04 pm
  3. I am extremely impressed along with your writing abilities and also with the structure on your blog.
    Is that this a paid subject or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way stay up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice weblog like this one today..

    Posted by Shari | May 18, 2013, 9:59 am
  4. Greetings I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now
    and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have
    saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

    Posted by Damian | May 24, 2013, 4:13 pm
  5. I visit everyday some web pages and websites to read articles or reviews,
    except this webpage offers quality based articles.

    Posted by cheap baby cribs with changer | May 31, 2013, 3:15 pm
  6. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend
    your website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this
    your broadcast offered bright clear idea

    Posted by übersetzung deutsch russisch | June 17, 2013, 4:05 pm
  7. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so
    I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on
    my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, excellent
    site!

    Posted by Scotty | November 4, 2013, 11:53 am

Leave a Reply

