Suffering

Do you want not to suffer anymore ?

When I read a little time ago what Christ was saying: “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy” (Mt.5, 7) I did not understand too well what it covers. I thought firstly that those who will help the poor and will always be generous, will shall obtain the mercy of God on the judgment day, meaning that they will enter the kingdom of heaven.

Now I understand that in addition to the promise there is something else.

I understand that when I have mercy to a poor man and help him, then God shall have mercy on me and He will help me in my problems. I also understand that when I am generous with those in need then God is generous to me and He doesn’t punish me when I make a mistake, or when I sin, but forgives me.

When I have compassion seeing someone suffering and I help him, then so God will have compassion on me when I am wrong and He doesn’t punish. When I was merciful with others, neither God was late to be  merciful with me.

I was thinking one day how better it would be not to suffer, not to be troubled, and to have a happy life. Seems pretty impossible here on earth. But I think in most parts this is really possible.

God didn’t punish me often, though, I’ve deserved it. I haven’t received from God troubles or punishments although I should have received them. I have never suffered too much. I cannot say that I had trouble but merely displeasures. I received a lot of gifts from God in my life and for that I am trying to help others as much as I can. This is the reason why I think God has mercy on me and I’m not punished too often, but He forgives me and makes me realize that sometimes I’m wrong and sometimes I’m selfish and sometimes I sin.

I think that whoever does not want to suffer must help the one who suffers, giving him support, love an care. Anyone who raises the suffering (hunger, cold, thirst, etc.) from a person, God will make sure that suffering will avoid him.

“Give to everyone who asks of you and from him who takes away your goods do not ask them back. And just as you want men to do to you, you also do to them likewise. But if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them. And if you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same.”

(Balan Claudiu)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

